Each booking is assigned a certain status in order to indicate the stage of the booking and to keep track of payments. The statuses are represented by different colours - in the theme that follows:

Draft

A booking is set to draft status when a manual booking is created through the backoffice by a Bookinglayer user. You can make as many changes to the booking as needed while it is set to draft, and an invoice will not be generated until you set the booking to either a Pending or Confirmed status. It is necessary to manually update the status from Draft if the booking is created manually through the calendar in the backoffice. You should update the status to Pending, if you need to wait on the customer's confirmation, or Confirmed, if the customer has confirmed this booking.

Bookings that come through the Frontoffice (the Booking Form on your website) will never be set to a Draft status.

Pending

The Pending status is also used for manual bookings in the backoffice calendar. Once you are satisfied with your Draft booking, you can update the status to Pending if you are waiting on the customer to confirm the booking. At the Pending stage, an invoice will be created and you can send the customer their Customer Portal URL, where they can view the proposed booking itinerary, and then update the booking status to Confirmed. A Bookinglayer user can also update the status from Pending to Confirmed if they get confirmation from the customer through another means of communication.

If desired, you can automatically set Pending bookings to expire through your Settings>Automated Emails tab. Here you can choose how many days after a booking is made that it will expire, and if the client is sent a notification email that their pending booking will expire if they don't confirm it within 24 hours.

Note: Payments cannot be made against a booking with a Pending status, only when a booking is at at least the Confirmed status will a customer be able to make a payment.

Requested

Bookings made by a customer through the Booking Form on your website will be set to Requested, if you have set the inventory item to manual confirmation. This is in case you want to double-check the bookings as they come into your calendar. From here you can either confirm the booking by manually changing the status to Confirmed, or make changes to the booking if necessary and set the status to Pending.

In both circumstances, the customer will be sent an email to inform them that the booking status has A) been confirmed and a payment can be made, or B) the booking has been changed and requires the customer to re-confirm the changes. Both of these steps can be made through the Customer Portal URL where the customer has the ability to make payments towards their booking, or confirm the status of their booking.

Confirmed

A booking can be set to the Confirmed status in one of three scenarios:

1) If a Bookinglayer user manually creates a booking and sets the status directly from Draft to Confirmed

2) If a customer confirms their booking through the Customer Portal URL link after being sent a Pending booking that was created manually in the backoffice by a Bookinglayer user.

3) If a customer makes a booking through the Booking Form, and the inventory item is set to Automatic Confirmation, which means that all bookings that are submitted through the Booking Form are automatically confirmed and payments can be made directly. If the customer pays a deposit or the full amount directly after making the booking, the booking will switch from Confirmed to Deposit Paid automatically, so it is very likely that the backoffice Bookinglayer user will never see the booking as a Confirmed status, it will simply come through as a Deposit Paid or Paid status.

If you require a deposit for the booking to be confirmed, you can set this amount in your Settings>Deposit and Last Minute.

Deposit Paid

The deposit paid status will show once the minimum deposit is made, which you have set in your backoffice. To learn how to set a deposit requirement, see this article. If your inventory item is set to Automatic Confirmation, a customer can pay the deposit directly after they fill in their information in the booking form. a customer can also make a deposit payment through the Customer Portal URL.

Bookinglayer will automatically register payments, and automatically update the booking status, from all payment methods except for Bank Transfers and Cash payments. For payments made by bank transfer or cash, the Bookinglayer user will have to update the booking status manually to 'deposit paid'.

Paid

The paid status will show once the entire invoice under a booking has been paid. This applies to initial invoice generated in the booking. If there are multiple invoices generated under one booking, the status will only be updated once all invoices are paid for.

For example if a customer pays for the initial booking invoice, the status will be set to Paid. Once the customer is on-site they may book extra activities or services, which will be added to their booking and have separate invoices, the booking status will then be switched back to Deposit Paid until all invoices are fully paid for. For more information on invoices please refer to this article.

Cancelled

A booking can only be cancelled through a Bookinglayer user in the backoffice. There is a 'cancel booking' button under each individual booking page:

Cancelled bookings will be removed from your calendar but they will still show in the list of bookings under your Bookings module. If you want to remove the booking entirely from the system you have the option to delete the booking, through the same section in the individual booking page.

Important: if you cancel a booking, there is no way to bring the status back and you will have to create an entirely new booking.

Expired

The expired status will only show if you have set Pending bookings to expired in your Settings > Automated Emails. If this setting is active, your Pending bookings will expire after the specified number of days that you have set. Only bookings with a Pending status have the ability to change to Expired.

Status Flow for Frontoffice Bookings

Status Flow for Backoffice Bookings

Did this answer your question?